Statutory Rape

Statutory Rape Lawyer in TXMost statutory rape claims do not involve forcing someone to have sex. Mostly, it is case of mistaken age between two people who are in a relationship. However, the law in Texas does not make these distinctions. Any time a person who is of age engages in sexual contact with someone who is underage, can face statutory rape charges.

As a Fort Worth statutory rape attorney, I understand the law and procedure for defending you against statutory rape charges. With more than 25 years of legal experience, I have an advantage in providing strategic, aggressive criminal defense. Furthermore, with over 11 years as a prosecuting attorney, I know exactly what the other side is looking for.  Contact me online or call (817) 714-5529 to discuss your case.

I take a personalized approach to my practice. When you work with the Texas law firm of Patrick Curran, Attorney At Law, I will be the one handling your case personally. I will return calls and texts as soon as possible. When you hire me to handle your defense, you are my highest priority.

Statutory Rape Principle

Statutory rape is not rape in the commonly understood sense of forcing a person to engage in sexual activity against that person’s will. It can involve sexual activity with two people who are willing participants, as long as one of the people is underage and the other is not, and they are not spouses.

In Texas, the age of consent is 17 years. Before a person reaches that age, he or she is considered legally incapable of consenting to sexual activity. So even if both parties are willing participants — indeed— it is still considered statutory rape.

Many people think that if the other person looked 17 or claimed to be 17, it is a valid legal excuse that could nullify the statutory rape charges… This is not true! Statutory rape is a strict liability crime. It does not matter whether the other partner looked or claimed to be of age. Mistake of age is not a defense in Texas.

Statutory rape involves sexual contact between someone under age 17 and someone 17 or older. Any time this happens, there is the possibility for the older party to face charges and prosecution. However, if the parties are within three years of age of each other, this is an affirmative defense that can be raised in the trial.

Contact an Attorney

To schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced defense lawyer, call me at (817) 714-5529 or contact me online.